I’ve never been very good at writing on this blog but I am going to force myself to sit down and write more often. And so to start it off, I’ve hidden all of my old posts (I think) and I am starting with a clean slate! 

I will start off with a recap of one of the best years of my life. In April, I had a beautiful baby girl, Zoe. She is my precious little Browncoat! Yes that is a reference to Firefly… her name was almost Inara but we knew she was a Zoe as soon as we met her! In September, Nick was told that he would be working on a project in Hawaii and would be travelling back and forth every 2 weeks. Since we have a very young baby, they agreed to let Zoe and I go with him. So we lived in Honolulu, Hawaii for 2 months! I have a new found fascination with snorkeling and Zoe loves the beach! And on the day before thanksgiving, we got married on the north shore of Oahu! It was gorgeous and everything came together quite nicely. I got a wedding dress bought and altered in 3 days and the perfect wedding ring! Our trip was really over too quickly. I wish we had spent more time doing the tourist thing though! 

We got back to the mainland in the beginning of December, got our Christmas tree, presents and counted down the days until Christmas excitedly. I was more excited about the prospect of making Christmas special for Zoe than I was about Christmases when I was a kid and I was getting all of the presents (very strange indeed!) New Years eve was spent conversing with neighbors, watching stuff on the dvr, playing with Zoe and then we rang in the new year with chocolate pudding with whipped cream and rainbow sprinkles. One of the best New Years I’ve had in a long time! 

And now it is time for my yearly resolutions… these are always broken fairly quickly but I do try!

1. I resolve to be more patient as a whole. I find myself getting short tempered with Zoe and Nick, especially when she starts screaming and I am really going to work on taking things in stride and not letting them get to me so much!

2. I resolve to stop being so paranoid about my health. I am a bit of a hypochondriac and I am going to try and curb those tendencies. I am going to bar myself from visiting webmd and worrying about every twinge, pinch and pain that I feel. No more panic attacks for me!

3. I resolve to be more responsible for keeping the house cleanish. I know that it will never be perfect but that will no longer deter me from at least making an effort! I am going to make myself clear the dishes up after meals right away and put the leftovers away! And laundry will be done on time! 

4. I resolve to not be neurotic about my weight. Instead of trying to lose weight, I am going to focus on eating healthy, getting a tiny bit of exercising daily and not weigh myself more than once per day. (I would say not more than once per week but I know that will never happen and these are supposed to be realistic!) And also to drink more liquids! I am terrible about liquids!

And most importantly…

5. I vow to spend more time focusing on Zoe and making sure I spend lots of time playing, bonding and teaching her and appreciating how fascinating she is instead of worrying about the house and the like. She is growing up so fast and I don’t want to miss anything! 

Hopefully, I will keep up this blog instead of just letting it fall by the wayside again but given my past history, I’m not going to bother making a resolution about it. I always break them and if I keep up with it, then great but if not, I don’t want to feel guilty over it! ( 6. I also resolve to feel less guilt over small stuff!)

 

I hope everyone had a great holiday season and its back to the grindstone as of bright and early tomorrow morning, so I’ll say goodnight now!

